top of page

A LIFE LESS ORDINARY FOR ADRIANNE



In our first of a new series of interviews with Pro Wix Designers, Rollover spoke to Adrianne Poe, who has used the Rollover app on her brand new website.

Adrianne has a stunning portfolio of work and a design style she describes as: "Clean and bright, modern and minimalistic."

She could have developed that approach as a by-product of being in the enviable position of living the beautiful Caribbean Island of St. Croix. US Virgin Islands.

If Adrianne wasn’t a designer, she’d travel the world eating, drinking, and scuba diving. And her underwater photography is a passion.


Check out some of Adrianne's photography

It looks like Adrianne has the lot, engaged to be married, a talented designer and a life in paradise, but it hasn't always been this way.

"I worked at a fortune 500 as the assistant art director for about 4 years," she explains. "I got so sick of a cubicle and high heels and my boss who knew zero about design telling me what looks good…. and I mean this guy beveled and embossed EVERYTHING. Gross. So I saved up a bunch of money over my last year there and quit."

It was a brave move, and Adrianne had to try to find her feet and carve her niche at a time of global recession.

“I started out on my own with a very high end large format vinyl print cut machine so I did mainly vehicle wraps and banners and interior decals. Then about 5 years ago I moved to the Caribbean to live my dream by the sea which is where I currently live and do all my design, in St. Croix. US Virgin Islands.”

And it was while in the paradise island that Adrianne found Wix. She’s skilled in Wordpress and Squarspace, but found Wix hit the spot.

She said: ”WIX has done great lately with adding new features! Some real amazing things lately but I am so worried about all the parastorage problems and the way our sites are tested and ranked for Google. I realize WIX may never move away from Ajax but they really need to focus on the JS and CSS and how it's rendered and works with search engines.

“I’m worried if they don’t get this fixed, another company will swoop in and take over the market and that would make this WIX pro very sad.”

The future is now

She believes that we’re also living in the future, well... kinda, and even in a world of mobile apps for every possibility, she argues websites are still important to a business as part of their marketing and sale strategies, “websites are still very important, of course. Mobile is the future, well the future is now so mobile is now ;)”

Speaking of design trends in 2016, Adrianne says: I’ve noticed more blocky websites vs the wide “responsive” looking sites. More solid colors and minimalist photography. Layered png multi scrolling sites too - which rock.


And what made her choose Rollover for her new site? “It was ease of use and multiple effects that were on offer,” she said.

“The app is great, it’s easy to use and I was able to get the exact look I wanted to achieve - which looks more like a WP site than WIX.

Adrianne used the Flip mode on her Recent Work section to reveal details of the project, using an image for the Start state and a semi-opacity image with a small graphic and text overly

“It was also most important was the yearly price. I hate keeping up with so many monthly fees.”

Check out how’s she’s used Rollover on the video above, or the link below.


Comentarios


more
view by tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page