top of page

MAN ON A MISSON



We spoke to Josh Gulewitsch, Mission Controller at Rocket Web Labs.. a man on the Rise.

Rocket Web Labs is a web design agency based in Vancouver. With a design style Josh describes as: "animated, authentic, deliberate, dynamic and imaginative."


No doubt. Check his company homepage

Josh is a passionate web designer. "Web design is essential to the world we currently live in," he said. "It allows us to connect in a creative, systematic, and meaningful way. It even comes in different forms, like e-commerce, blogs, informational sites, personal sites, and social media sites too. All of which are working towards a common goal of translating the flow of information into something we can all recognize, believe in, or want to be a part of.

I’ve always wanted to own a hotel or beach resort, but that’s a long term goal. In the short term, if I couldn’t design websites I would like to still have the ability to express my creativity in a way that helps others. But let's be honest, if this web design thing wasn’t holding me back I would already be on my way to Mars.

We asked Josh what made him choose Rollover?

"I chose Rollover because I wanted to improve the user experience and bring my creations to the next level,"he explained.

"I first tried Rollover to test behavior compared to my other projects that didn’t integrate the app. Using heatmaps, it was no brainer that Rollover attracted more clicks to where I strategically placed my call to actions.

"When I create a website I give them personality. I want users to be fully engaged with the character that I can express through apps like Rollover.

And then we followed up by asking about his experience using the App?

"Setting up Rollover is a piece of cake. It took not even 5 minutes to find the perfect fitting Rollover effect to match the sites layout. Rollover is fully customizable with gradient tools, different fonts, and responds nicely when stretched across the screen.

Look how Josh used Rollover on this site....


Describe your design style?

"I specialize in real estate websites so it's important not to go overkill with fancy design elements. In order to generate leads for my clients, I need the images of the properties to POP! They need to stand out, so I like to keep color at a minimal, and let the images captivate the audience once they lay eyes on their screen.

The most important part of my design style is finding that balance between user engagement and flow of the website. Design is not just about creating the theme or the website’s face, it also includes the architectural layout that guides the user to where you want them to end up; the website’s call to action.

If I could describe my design style in 5 words: animated, authentic, deliberate, dynamic and imaginative.


Josh came to this point via "770,000 liters of rocket fuel and 1.2 million liters of booster fuel gets you going that’s for sure. Bad joke? On a more serious note, I’ve always had a goal; to get from Point A to Point B. I’m not at Point B yet, but I’m close. And I’m still standing because I believe in myself and trust my judgement.

"To get to this far, I tapped into a different mind frame that I haven't stepped into before, connected with my environment, and used the law of attraction to guide me.

"I haven’t reached my career highlight because it has been only about 6 months since I started. My career highlight is to hopefully one day become a Wix Pro and Featured Story. I want to help others get to their own Point B by sharing my story and giving them the rocket and booster fuel they need to get there."

 

JOSH'S LIST OF DESIGN TRENDS IN 2016

● Hamburger/Vertical Menu

● Small and large scale animation

● Pop up subscription forms

● Collage gallery layouts

● Background videos

● Parallax websites

● 3D Logos

● Flat icons

 

Wix - THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE PRESENT STATE

Josh says: Since I started creating websites with Wix, I have been keeping tabs on how they market themselves. In the beginning it seemed like Wix was targeting all small businesses to come and build showpiece websites.

Then I started to notice new programs offered by Wix, such as the Wix Arena, WixEd Certification, and becoming a Wix Pro in your city. Overtime Wix changed direction and started targeting freelance web designers by offering new platforms and ways to target small businesses so they didn’t have to. Maybe I’m wrong, but I am just happy they did it.

Good stuff about Wix:

Everything good you hear about Wix is true. It couldn’t be easier to build a website. Everything is drag and drop, and also fully customizable. Wix offers great features and effects you can integrate into your website in a matter of seconds. Your website also comes with a dashboard where you can manage all your contacts, invoicing, bookings, and all other apps on your website. Wix is a great tool if you want to keep things simple, and you’re not looking to create something that it isn’t designed for. When I build websites I always start from a blank canvas, so I wouldn’t know about their templates. They look nice though.

Bad stuff about Wix:

Speed is an issue I always come across with Wix websites no matter how much optimization is done or painful calls I make to their customer service line. But the worst thing about Wix is the fact that your website is hosted with them no matter what. You can’t just pick it up and take it home with you. It’s connect to Wix servers, and always will be. The connection between Wix sites and Wix Servers are more loyal than anyone’s marriage even if they both just needed some more “space”.

 

Get more of Josh Gulewitsch_Mission Controller @ Rocket Web Labs Inc.


Comments


more
view by tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page